CPA Awards

The California Placement Association recognizes the significant contributions of its members and partners through the following awards and recognition:


The Joan Crocker Service Award is the highest honor awarded by the California Placement Association. This award was established by the CPA Executive Council on November 17, 1973, to honor the memory of Joan Crocker, Placement Director at Los Angeles City College. Joan was a founding member of the California Community College Placement Association (CCCPA), now the California Placement Association (CPA). The award recognizes a member who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and dedication to this organization and the field of job placement / employment services and in all areas carried out the goals, objectives, and purposes of CPA.


Congratulations to John Silver, 2017 Joan Crocker Award recipient!

2018      No Award Given

2017       John Silver, Employment and Career Coach, Santa Clarita, CA      

2016       Jackie Kennedy Harris, Group Manager, Talent Acquisition, Enterprise, Central Valley Group

2015       Anthony Michaelides, College of the Canyons and… Rudy Gutierrez, Bakersfield College

2014       Rosa Asencio, Mt. San Antonio College

2013       Eric Hilden, Saddleback College

2012       Wilda Wallace, Antelope Valley College

2011       No Award Given

2010       Anthony Hou, Coastline College / Orange County One-Stop

2009       Helen Beaird, Los Angeles Trade Tech College

2008       Christina The, Cerritos College

2007       Ann Steinberg, Antelope Valley College

2006       No Award Given

2005       No Award Given

2004       No Award Given

2003       Denise Crawford, Bakersfield College

2002       No Award Given

2001       Kim Jordan, Modesto Junior College

2000       Lou Marchant, Porterville College

1999       Maggi Dunsmore, Victor Valley College

1998       Marge Nielsen, Saddleback College

1997       Charles West, Bakersfield College

1996       Chris DeHart, Shasta College

1995       Linda Bearse, Butte College

1994       Joseph Dias, Rancho Santiago College and

Ken Speed, Butte College

1993       No Award Given

1992       Barbara Locke, Chevron Corporation

1991       Walt Gonzales, Southern California Edison

1990       No Award Given (SF Earthquake)

1989       Jan Ward, Saddleback College

1988       Margo Milne, Pacific Bell

1987       Marilyn Hess, Security Pacific National Bank

1986       Joe Richey, Pacific Bell

1985       Barbara Baysden, Cypress College

1983       Sharis Cross, Los Angeles Valley College

1982       John Best, Transamerican / Occidental

1981       Ron Ryan, Southern California Edison

1980       Shirley Kawazoe, DeAnza College

1979       Dorothy O’Brien, West Hills College

1978       Glen Tilton, Sacramento City College

1977       Paul Jones, Career Opportunity Index

1976       Gwen Hodge, Compton College

1975       John Rogers, Mt. San Antonio College

1974       Marsha Savant, Los Angeles Harbor College



The California Placement Association offers the ‘Honorary Life Membership’ to those members that have made a ‘substantial contribution’ to the work and growth of the CPA and to the professional field of placement /employment services. Recipients must no longer be actively engaged in placement, recruitment, or other areas aligned to job placement either because of retirement or movement out of the field. Recipients must have served with distinction in at least two of the following capacities: Executive Board Member, Committee Chairperson, Conference Co-Chair, and a minimum of five years of active membership in CPA.

Honorary Life Membership recipients receive lifetime membership into CPA with voting privileges without payment of dues and complimentary registration to the Annual Conference and Regional Workshops. Honorary Life Members may not hold Executive Board office positions.